Award Programs

No content found

No content found

No content found

No content found

Safety Awards

National AGC (NASA) and Carolinas AGC Safety Awards

The 2023 National AGC (NASA) & Carolinas AGC Safety Awards are now closed. We look forward to honoring the award winners at our 2024 Summit in Myrtle Beach, South Carolina on Saturday, August 3.

It's fast, easy and free to enter. Fill out one safety data form to be entered in both award programs, allowing you to compete on both the national and local level! The 2023 NASA and Carolinas AGC Safety Awards will be presented during the 2023 CAGC Summit and Expo, August 1 - 4 in Myrtle Beach, South Carolina.

About the Awards
National AGC and Carolinas AGC safety recognition program compares members' safety records with others in like classifications and similar man-hours exposure. The National AGC Safety Awards (NASA) application requests that certain information from your OSHA 300 Log, which must be posted on your job sites by the first of February, be transferred to a short online reporting form. Awards are given to companies with qualifying incident rates. This award is for AGC members only, and you should apply through your home AGC chapter.

Questions about this award:
Contact Jacob Garmon | (704) 372-1450 ext. 5222.


Construction Safety Excellence Awards (CSEA)

The 2024 Construction Safety Excellence Awards (CESA) have now closed! Winners will be announced at the AGC of America Convention in San Diego, California March 19 - 22, 2024.

The purpose of the CSEA is to recognize those construction companies who excel at safety performance. The CSEA closely examines each candidate's commitment to safety and occupational health management and risk control. Unlike other safety award programs that limit the criteria to frequency rates, the CSEA selection process is considerably more comprehensive. Each application will be reviewed for evidence of:

  • Company management commitment
  • Active employee participation
  • Safety training
  • Work site hazard identification and control
  • Safety program innovation

Participants will be required to complete the application form and submit it directly to AGC of America. Members of the national AGC Safety & Health Committee will review and judge the submittals at the Construction Safety & Health Conference, held in January each year. The finalists in each divisional category will then be invited to compete in-person at the AGC National Convention for either a 1st, 2nd or 3rd place award. Finalists will give an oral presentation in front of five judges. The 1st, 2nd and 3rd place awards will be determined after oral presentations. The grand award winner will be selected from among the 1st place winners. The winners will be announced at the Safety Awards Ceremony during the AGC National Convention.

Questions about this award:
Contact Jacob Garmon | 704-372-1450 x5222.

Building Star-NC OSHA Voluntary Protection Program

North Carolina Department of Labor/OSHA has expanded the Carolina Star, a program recognizing companies for establishing safe workplaces, to include the construction industry. Construction companies can now earn a "Building Star," which recognizes construction worksites that have "Carolina Star" quality safety and health programs but require demonstration of approaches and procedures that differ from current "Carolina Star" requirements set up for general industry. This program was developed in conjunction and agreement with Carolinas AGC.

Companies receiving the designation must meet several criteria, including a comprehensive safety program, excellent injury and illness rates and employee participation in the safety process. In "Building Star," management, labor, and OSHNC establish a cooperative relationship at the workplace. Management agrees to operate an effective program that meets established criteria. Employees agree to participate in the program and work with management to ensure a safe and healthful workplace. OSHNC verifies that the program meets "Building Star" criteria, publicly recognizes the site's exemplary program, and removes up to three of the company's construction sites per year from programmed OSHNC compliance inspections.

Businesses that earn the Building Star may stay in the program for three years. Companies can re-apply after the third year of Star status as long as the workplace continues to maintain a solid safety and health program and submits required annual information, such as injury and illness rate data. 

Advantages of Building Start stated by NC OSHA:

  • Improved employee motivation to work safely
  • Participants generally record reductions in workers' compensation costs
  • Safe and healthful working conditions
  • Reduced absenteeism and turnover
  • Reduced employee complaints to OSHNC Compliance
  •  Avoidance of costly OSHNC penalties
  • More efficient operations
  • Increased productivity
  • Improved employee morale
  • Recognition

Companies seeking a Star program application or additional information about the programs:
Contact Lamont Smith, Star program manager, Department of Labor | 1-800-NC-LABOR.

No content found