Award Programs

No content found

No content found

No content found

Safety Awards

National AGC (NASA) and Carolinas AGC Safety Awards

Congratulations to our 2020 Safety Award Winners!

2020 Safety Award WinnersThis National AGC and Carolinas AGC safety recognition program compares members' safety records with others in like classifications and similar man-hours exposure. The National AGC Safety Awards (NASA) application requests that certain information from your OSHA 300 Log, which must be posted on your job sites by the first of February, be transferred to a short online reporting form. Members must apply 3 years in a row to be eligible for an award from National AGC, but annual awards are given from CAGC if your incident rate qualifies. This award is for AGC members only, and you should apply through your home AGC chapter.

Questions about this award:
Contact Jacob Garmon | (704)372-1450 ext. 5222.


Construction Safety Excellence Awards (CSEA)

Nominations closed March 31, 2021.

CSEA Award Entry Form

This National AGC and Carolinas AGC safety recognition program was developed several years ago and focuses on more detailed information compared to the National AGC Safety Awards (NASA). This program attempts to identify those contractors that demonstrate exemplary safety programs that involve all employees from upper management to the newest laborer employed.

The program is broad in scope - injury rates are important but are not the only criterion used to determine winners.

The Judges look for:

  • Direct evidence of upper management/owner commitment
  • Worker training
  • Active participation at the grass roots level
  • Creativity and uniqueness in a company's program

Candidates must not only present a formal written summary of their safety program, in December they make a verbal 5-minute presentation in Charlotte to a panel of judges which includes representatives of NC and SC OSHA and several safety professionals. IMPORTANT - creative approaches to safety is key to becoming a finalist.

Finalists are honored at the Carolinas AGC Annual Convention and forwarded to AGC of America to represent Carolinas AGC on a National level. If chosen as a finalist on the National level, winners will repeat their 5-minute presentation to a National committee at AGC of America's Annual Committee meeting.

Questions about this award:
Contact Jacob Garmon | 704-372-1450 x5222.

Building Star-NC OSHA Voluntary Protection Program

North Carolina Department of Labor/OSHA has expanded the Carolina Star, a program recognizing companies for establishing safe workplaces, to include the construction industry. Construction companies can now earn a "Building Star," which recognizes construction worksites that have "Carolina Star" quality safety and health programs but require demonstration of approaches and procedures that differ from current "Carolina Star" requirements set up for general industry. This program was developed in conjunction and agreement with Carolinas AGC.

Companies receiving the designation must meet several criteria, including a comprehensive safety program, excellent injury and illness rates and employee participation in the safety process. In "Building Star," management, labor, and OSHNC establish a cooperative relationship at the workplace. Management agrees to operate an effective program that meets established criteria. Employees agree to participate in the program and work with management to ensure a safe and healthful workplace. OSHNC verifies that the program meets "Building Star" criteria, publicly recognizes the site's exemplary program, and removes up to three of the company's construction sites per year from programmed OSHNC compliance inspections.

Businesses that earn the Building Star may stay in the program for three years. Companies can re-apply after the third year of Star status as long as the workplace continues to maintain a solid safety and health program and submits required annual information, such as injury and illness rate data. 

Advantages of Building Start stated by NC OSHA:

  • Improved employee motivation to work safely
  • Participants generally record reductions in workers' compensation costs
  • Safe and healthful working conditions
  • Reduced absenteeism and turnover
  • Reduced employee complaints to OSHNC Compliance
  •  Avoidance of costly OSHNC penalties
  • More efficient operations
  • Increased productivity
  • Improved employee morale
  • Recognition

Companies seeking a Star program application or additional information about the programs:
Contact Lamont Smith, Star program manager, Department of Labor | 1-800-NC-LABOR.

No content found